Open Letter #5: To my future children

Photo credit: shutterstock images

Hi there loves,
This is a letter from your mother to you. I’m excited to pen this down and although I’m clueless as to how you’ll all turn out to be, I’m hopeful that you’ll turn out just fine. Just know that I love you all and you mean the world to me and I can’t wait for you to read this letter.

Although I didn’t know God in the early years of my life, I’m going to make sure you know him early and develop a personal relationship with him. I’m going to protect you and never leave you in the hands of strangers to be maltreated or bullied.

I’m going to be very accommodating. You can count on me at all times and trust me with all your secrets. I’m going to be your best friend and your confidant. I want you to walk up to me what’s on your mind: tell me which subjects bother you the most in school, your favourite teachers, who you’re crushing on and who is crushing on you, those annoying classmates, the funny events at school, that test you didn’t perform so well in and your greatest fears. Don’t ever be afraid to ask me anything no matter how awkward it is because I won’t deny you the truth.

I definitely won’t spare the rod when you misbehave because I want you to grow up to be disciplined and responsible people. I’m going to teach you to trust and believe in God and you’re going to read books to develop your mind. I’ll put your interests at heart and never force you to take courses that are not in line with your interests. Most importantly, always protect each other and never break the bond you share as siblings.

Photo credit: 123rf.com

Now listen to me, this world is a small one and every choice you make has a consequence, either positive or negative. What goes around, comes around. Be kind to others no matter how bad they treat you. Be humble, be compassionate, be prayerful, respect people and never look down on others. Violence and pride won’t lead you anywhere and don’t live your life trying to get even with others when they offend you. Learn to forgive. Let “please”, “thank you” and “sorry” always be on your lips.

And trust me, we’re going to have a lot of fun. We’ll visit fun and interesting places often, take lots of pictures and make memories. With me as your mother, your birthdays and anniversaries are going to be a big deal. Don’t be afraid to go for what you want as I will always have your back.

I expect my investment into your life and education to pay off so do well to make me proud. I pray that God grants me a long life to care for you and guard you in this life. Even when you get married and leave home, you’ll still be my babies. I also pray that you achieve greater things and dare to accomplish the things that I couldn’t.

Go out there and conquer the world. Trust and believe in God, pray, take risks, have fun, work hard and most importantly, be you!

With so much love,

Your supermum!

Leave a Reply

