Mama

image

This post is quite late. I was caught up in quite a lot yesterday and when I finally had time to publish it, my phone went dead. I hope it’s not too late to finally publish it.

“Her children arise up, and call her blessed; her husband also, and he praiseth her” – Proverbs 31:28 (KJV)

Happy mothers day to all mothers, grandmothers, great grandmothers, caregivers and all the mother figures around the world.

My mother and I share a deep bond. Right from birth, through the moment I took my baby steps and to this point in my life, she’s been my backbone. Doubling as a best friend, teacher, costume designer, hair stylist, nurse, fashion critic, coach, chef, I could go on and on. She’s a superwoman!

Right from childhood, she instilled the spirit of reading into me and I deem that to be the most valuable gift I’ve received from her because it has really paid off. I still remember our trips to bookshops to buy storybooks and our countless dictation sessions and oh, how can I forget those nursery rhymes and jingles she taught me. I’m able to write down stuff and read loads of books because of her. From the Ladybird books, Enid Blyton and Nancy Drew books, Sweet Valley and Babysitter’s Club straight to Shakespeare’s books, Pacesetters series, charley which book didn’t this woman buy for me to read! I’m grateful mama.

I appreciate our little bonding moments, especially our chit chats and how we can go on and on about everything (yes, we judge people together)

I’ll never forget the proud look on her face on the day of my graduation. It was one of her greatest wishes to see me in a graduation gown (I did it) and that’s the first out of her many expectations (Relax, I’m on the rest)

And so, from the bottom of my heart, I want to a big thank you to her:

  • For putting up with my “attitude”
  • For ensuring that I always ate before leaving for school every morning and packing my lunch.
  • For listening when my heart was broken
  • For the stern reprimands after sticking with me even though what I did was wrong.
  • For encouraging me and pushing me out of my comfort zone to do things I’d dare not do.
  • For believing in me when I didn’t and all your selfless sacrifice.
  • For teaching me how to be independent.
  • For drawing me closer to God.
  • For teaching me how to cook and that long endless list of recipes (I’m still learning)
  • For praying for me always.
  • For encouraging me to pursue a professional course.
  • For letting me use and ‘steal’ some of her items.
  • For the little gifts and surprises that always light me up.             
  •  And yes, for teaching me to stand up for myself and never let anyone take me for granted.

The list is endless!

God bless you and continue to use you to impact many lives around you. God keep and preserve you even as you anticipate that BIG day (chief planner✌️) I love you mummy😘

Let me end with Boyz II Men’s, “A Song For Mama”

Leave a Reply

