Two-faced

wpid-img_20150808_194436.jpg
Two girls sat at a cafeteria chatting over drinks and giggling.

“Uhmm Tiff, I think Elvis is cheating on me?” Araba, one of the girls suddenly said as she placed her glass of juice down. Tiffany, who Araba affectionately called Tiff, choked on her drink.

“What did you just say?” she asked adjusting herself properly in her seat.

“Elvis is cheating on me”, Araba repeated.

“With who?” Tiffany asked almost immediately.

“I don’t know. I’m yet to find out”, Araba said with a crease on her forehead as she leaned in. “That’s why I’m telling you. We’ve got to find out who the girl is and teach her a lesson or what do you think?” she whispered with the sly smile she usually put up anytime she was up to something.

Tiffany smiled weakly and asked “But what makes you think he’s cheating on you?”

“Elvis is a changed person now. He no longer has time for me and is always coming up with excuses. I’m almost always alone these days. Hmm. His behaviour of late when his phone rings is questionable too. He always has this uneasy feeling when we’re together and his phone rings. He thinks I haven’t noticed but I have and I’m planning on taking him by surprise one of these days. I just have to find out who the girl is”

Tiffany remained silent.

“You remember a week ago when I called you that I was coming over?”

Tiffany nodded.

“I was supposed to go on a date with him but he cancelled it at the last-minute with a strange excuse. I was really disappointed that’s why I called but you also had somewhere to go. I felt so lonely” Araba continued.

“And just three days ago, he missed my birthday dinner. Can you imagine? You weren’t there to see the disappointment registered on my face” Araba said and pursed her lips.

Tiffany looked on sympathetically.

“But come to think of it, my best friend and boyfriend missed my birthday dinner. Ei Tiff, of late you’ve been very scarce as well. What are you hiding from me? Are you dating now? Who is that guy? Let me in on it oo” Araba said playfully and nudged Tiffany’s elbow.

“Oh there’s no one. I went to visit my sick dad. He called me to come over because he had something urgent to discuss with me” Tiffany replied as she sipped her juice hurriedly.

“Oh really? I thought you said you had to meet a relative at the airport. Never mind, maybe I wasn’t really paying attention. I was too occupied on that day. But I hope he’s fine now?” she asked.

“Yeah, he’s better now”, Tiffany answered.

Araba’s phone started ringing. She answered the call and got up to leave after realizing it was an emergency.

“Tiff dear. I have to go but we’ll continue this discussion tonight. You have to help me track this boyfriend snatcher down. We need to teach her a lesson”, she told Tiffany as she picked up her bag to leave, “And don’t worry about the drinks. I’ll pay for them on my way out”, she added and left.

Tiffany sat rooted to her seat with panic written all over her face as Araba walked away. Her knees were wobbly and beads of sweat had formed on her forehead. She slowly brought out her phone from her bag with and made a call. There was no answer. She called for the second and third time and there was still no answer so she opened her messages and with shaky hands, hurriedly typed “Elvis, our cover has been blown. We need to end things now”

Leave a Reply

